Alohas and Po kak!

So we headed down to Chinatown here in Honolulu to Legends (apparently considered the standard for classic Chinese food). Sheeesh, and here I thought places like King’s Garden in Kaimuki, Sea Fortune in Chinatown, and Dynasty in Ward Center was the standard (Note: apparently all the three listed places are closed now-dammit).

And of course, there were a few crazy tourists that had to get in our picture.

Legends in Chinatown

Now this is a classic Chinese restaurant! There is a table-cloth on the table covered by a clear plastic covering. There is a weird chandelier in the center of the room. And most importantly, there are a TON of FOB Chinese eating…sure sign of great Chinese food.

Inside Legends

Course #1: Shark fin soup

Shark fin soup

One of my childhood favorites, this soup is fast disappearing because of the ban on shark fin before January 2011. I would suggest, if you can, get some. Hawt!

Course #2: Oxtail stew.

Oxtail Stew

This tail braised for hours in a stew – my Father’s favorite.

Oxtail!

Course #3: Black bean dungeness crab

Black bean dungeness crab

My favorite dish of the evening. First off, the dungeness crab has a ton of crab meat inside. Unlike the small blue crab which yields barely one bite per crab, the dungeness crab will produce at least a plateful. I got me some crabs!

Of course a finger washing bowl too.

Finger washing bowl for the crab

Course #3a: Rice

Rice

Now ordinarily, rice comes at the very end as not to fill you up on starches during the meal…Clearly I couldn’t wait.

Course #3b: Rice with black bean sauce

Black bean sauce on rice

OK–so I just wanted to cover my rice with the black bean sauce.

Course #4: Stuffed duck with barley, chestnut, and leupchong.

Stuffed duck

Savory ingredients and gravy in the duck mixed with the barley-delicious. I only wished the duck skin was crispy.

Course #5: Steamed Uhu (aka parrot fish).

Classic Chinese style steamed Uhu

Classic preparation of steamed fish which includes garlic, ginger, green onions, salt, pepper, shoyu, and sesame oil. The steamed fish we have on our menu is prepared the same way.

Wocka wocka wocka wocka wocka wocka wocka wocka

Check out those chompers!

Course #6: Black bean clams

Clams...Giggity giggity

Growing up in Hawaii, this was another one of my childhood favorites. I kinda wanted to eat hundreds of them. Again, utilize the sauce for the rice.

Course #7: Chinese style BBQ pork chops

Pork!

These large thin sliced pieces were deep fried crispy then tossed with a sweet spicy chili sauce. Reminds us of our shrimp inspired by EK and Yang Chow in LA, these pork morsels are awesome!

Course #8: Tofu seafood stew

Tofu stew

Small fried tofu  had pieces of beef and squid in the gravy. Gotta love me some veggies.

Course #9: Dried scallops and broccoli.

Dried scallop and broccoli

The dried scallops are broken up in pieces and soaked in water for hours. Broccoli is stir fried with the pieces of scallop and tossed lightly with the classic brown gravy. Pour some in my pants!

At this point, I thought we were done…but I was informed that there was more.

Course #10: E-min

E-min...for good luck

Whole long noodles served toward the end of the meal to symbolize long health and life…these noodles were delicious and tasty. Slurp slurp mofo.

Course #11: Peach filled bun with lotus bean.

Gigantor bun

This dessert was a ginormous bun and inside were mini buns filled with a red bean paste. Bud Light bottle strategically placed for size comparison. Whoa Nellie!

At this point, I might have slipped into a food coma in the corner with my food baby.

Snoring Reporting from Chinatown in beautiful Hawaii…

