Chinese bitter melon – A childhood dish that I remember, not because I liked it, but because my Father loves it.

Speaking of childhood...

So we made it.

Hollow out your bitter melon and cut into finger length logs and rinse. In a large bowl, mix ground pork, garlic, salt, green onions, how yeow (oyster sauce), shoyu (soy sauce), sesame oil, white pepper, sugar, and minced onions. Mixa mixa.

Stuff the mix into the bitter melon logs. Place on dish.

Steam for 25-45 minutes (depending on your portions many you have).

Bitter melon steaming away (about 25 min in)

Note dish will release plenty of “au jus”.

For service, just serve it with your typical bowl of rice.

RICE!

SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO, how was it?

Fung Pi! Not good. I still do not like Chinese bitter melon. Too bitter. We even tried with hoisin, how yeow, and shoyu. Nope.

Chinese bitter melon

 

Hell, I even found an older video from Oceanic Cable’s video vault:   http://www.aroundhawaii.com/entertainment/streaming_media/chinese_stuffed_bitter_melon.html  (Note: Who the hell wears a Cheongsam to cook?)

I guess Chinese bitter melon will be a dish I only make for my Father.  

Reporting live from QuarryLaneFarms…

