On Saturday Food Network was in town filming for The Great Food Truck Race in Cleveland.

CLEVELAND MOFOS!!!!!!

Show me the money shot!

That’s right – the culinary gods goosed by Chris Hodgson (Hodge’s, DimHodgePodgeTruck, and Dim and Den Sum). Nice!

So we found them all loitering around the Gordon Square area on Detroit..and a perfect day for being outside!

One of the main contestants was Pop a Waffle (@popawaffle) was there. “Serving delicious gourmet waffles on a street near you!” – yep, they are from California.

We’re going back to Cali….to Cali…to Cali….

Oddly, the lines weren’t long but lots of loitering going on.

Pop my cherry…I mean waffle

Typical setup for a food truck.

Window-1: order and pay / Window-2: get your food

The dude working the expiditer position needed a bull horn. His semi transparent water cup wasn’t loud enough.

Singing in the truck….just singing in the truck….

Singing was just OK too.

In looking at their menu, I wasn’t quite sure if this was a joke. A bunch of Californian types serving a polish boy?

Polish boy: a classic in California

I honestly believe trying to serve a Polish boy in Cleveland might have been a lame attempt to attract the Cleveland crowd.

Plus I really wouldn’t deviate from Seti’s – my current marker for an outstanding PoBoy.

Their $2 lemonade was over watered. Easily could have passed for nursing home beverage. C’mon-not cool!

BUT the crew was serving their signature dish – Fried Chicken and Waffles.

Order!

So of course we ordered it.

Two quarters of waffles, syrup and a chicken drumstick.

Chicken and Waffles

Chicken crust was crunchy but bland. Good texture but no taste.

Chicken was bland. Didn’t seem like they brined it prior. All good fryers know one must brine their chicken.

Powdered sugar looked like it was dusted from space.

Additionally, the chicken wasn’t cooked through either.

I like my chicken…a little bloody

And here’s the face of my Fried Chicken Master, @cleveland222

If you like this face, you should see the hair

That face says it all.

Not saying much when your primary waffle is soggy and your chicken needs salt.

But when you call yourself Pop a Waffle, I expect to #getsome. I got neither popped…or waffled. Maybe more like “bewildered about a waffle”

So I predict this team will be headed back to California sooner than later.

Pop your Ohio cherry and head back to California

Plus their twitter presence is rather bland. If you’re going to be on a national frickin show, get a twitter account and use it. One tweet does NOT make you “in the game”.

Tweet me @popawaffle…NOT! Psych!

It just makes you look bad.

Reporting live from QuarryLaneFarms…

